photo 2 options
  • Logo

    Photo Uploaded
  • Footer Logo

    Photo Uploaded
color 6 options


Your settings have been saved.

47th Annual CMA Award Nominees Announced: Who Leads The Pack?

PopWrapped | PopWrapped Author


09/11/2013 3:25 am
47th Annual CMA Award Nominees Announced: Who Leads The Pack?


Shelby Parker

Staff Writer

The nominees are in for the 47th annual CMA Awards! Several of the major categories were announced today on ABC’s Good Morning America by Florida Georgia Line and Sheryl Crow.

Fans all over have been anticipating the names read aloud of their favorite musician or song for the according category. The beautiful thing about country music fans, though, is that they are loyal to the genre as a whole and support all of its artists, like a family does. 

Read the full list of nominees as well as the rest of the story below:

Entertainer of the Year:

Blake Shelton
George Strait
Jason Aldean
Luke Bryan
Taylor Swift

Single of the Year:

“Cruise”- Florida Georgia Line
“Highway Don’t Care”-Tim McGraw, Taylor Swift, and Keith Urban
“Mama’s Broken Heart”-Miranda Lambert
“Merry Go ‘Round”-Kacey Musgraves
“Wagon Wheel”-Darius Rucker

Album of the Year:

Based On A True Story-Blake Shelton
Blown Away-Carrie Underwood
Red-Taylor Swift
Same Trailer Different Park-Kacey Musgraves
Tornado-Little Big Town

Song of the Year:

“I Drive Your Truck” - written by Jessi Alexander, Connie Harrington & Jimmy Yeary; performed by Lee Brice
“Mama’s Broken Heart” - written by Brandy Clark, Shane McAnally & Kacey Musgraves; performed by Miranda Lambert
“Merry Go Round” - written by Shane McAnally, Kacey Musgraves & Brandy Clark; performed by Kacey Musgraves

Female Vocalist of the Year:

Carrie Underwood 
Kacey Musgraves
Kelly Clarkson
Miranda Lambert
Taylor Swift

Male Vocalist of the Year:

Blake Shelton
Eric Church
Jason Aldean 
Keith Urban
Luke Bryan

Vocal Group of the Year:

Eli Young Band
Lady Antebellum
Little Big Town
The Band Perry
Zac Brown Band

Vocal Duo of the Year:

Big and Rich
Florida Georgia Line
Love & Theft
The Civil Wars
Thompson Square

Musical Event of the Year:

“Boys ‘Round Here”-Blake Shelton with The Pistol Annies
“Cruise”-Florida Georgia Line with Nelly
“Don’t Rush”-Kelly Clarkson feat. Vince Gill
“Highway Don’t Care”-Tim McGraw with Taylor Swift and Keith Urban
“The Only Way I Know”-Jason Aldean with Luke Bryan and Eric Church

Musician of the Year:

Brent Mason-guitar
Dann Huff-guitar
Mac MacAnally-guitar
Paul Franklin-steel guitar
Sam Bush-Mandolin

Music Video of the Year


“Blown Away”-Carrie Underwood
“Boys ‘Round Here”-Blake Shelton feat.The Pistol Annies
“Downtown”-Lady Antebellum
“Highway Don’t Care”-Tim McGraw with Taylor Swift and Keith Urban
“Mama’s Broken Heart”-Miranda Lambert

As pictured from E! Online, Kacey Musgraves and Taylor Swift are tied for the most nominations, both with six each. Let’s not forget one of country music’s favorite couples, Blake and Miranda, are also tied for five. Miranda has three on her own and two with her group, Pistol Annies.

Whether or not your favorites made the cut, you can be sure that the hosts will make it a great show indeed. Brad Paisley and Carrie Underwood resume their roles for the 6th year in a row airing November 6 on ABC at 8 p.m.

Check out the video when Little Big Town announced at the CMA Fest that Carrie and Brad would be hosting once again, and relive some of the greatest moments of their gig through the years. 



Are you sure you want to delete this?