photo 2 options
  • Logo

    Photo Uploaded
  • Footer Logo

    Photo Uploaded
color 6 options


Your settings have been saved.

Movies / Awards PopWrapped | Movies

Academy Awards Acknowledge 18 Scientific And Technical Achievements

Elissa Smith | PopWrapped Author

Elissa Smith

Staff Writer
01/10/2017 6:49 pm
PopWrapped | Movies
Academy Awards Acknowledge 18 Scientific And Technical Achievements | Technical Achievements
Media Courtesy of We Are Movie Geeks

18 Scientific and Technical Achievements will be acknowledged at the annual Scientific and Technical Academy Awards Presentation on Saturday, February 11 at the Beverly Wilshire in Beverly Hills. They will be represented by 34 individual academy recipients and five organizations.

Chair of the Scientific and Technical Awards Committee, Ray Feeney, is enthusiastic about the awards. “This year we are particularly pleased to be able to honor not only a wide range of new technologies, but also the pioneering digital cinema cameras that helped facilitate the widespread conversion to electronic image capture for motion picture production,” he said.

Unlike other Academy Awards, these achievements do not need to have been completed in 2016. Instead, they must have a record of significant assistance to the creation of motion pictures. Segments of the presentation will be included in the Oscars telecast on Sunday, February 26 at 7pm ET.


Thomson Grass Valley: Designing the Viper FilmStream digital camera system

Larry Gritz: The creation of Open Shading Language (OSL)

Carl Ludwig, Eugene Troubetzkoy, and Maurice van Swaaij: Development of the CGI Studio renderer at Blue Sky Studios

Brian Whited: Designing the Meander drawing system at Walt Disney Animation Studios

Mark Rappaport, Scott Oshita, Jeff Cruts, and Todd Minobe: Creating the Creature Effects Animatronic Horse Puppet

Glenn Sanders and Howard Stark: designing the Zaxcom Digital Wireless Microphone System

David Thomas, Lawrence E. Fisher and David Bundy: Creating the Lectrosonics Digital Hybrid Wireless Microphone System

Parag Havaldar: developing the expression-based facial performance-capture technology at Sony Pictures Imageworks

Nicholas Apostoloff and Geoff Wedig: developing the animation rig-based facial performance-capture systems at ImageMovers Digital and Digital Domain

Kiran Bhat, Michael Koperwas, Brian Cantwell and Paige Warner: developing the ILM facial performance-capture solving system


ARRI: pioneering design and engineering of the Super 35 format Alexa digital camera system

RED Digital Cinema: designing the RED Epic digital cinema cameras with upgradeable full-frame image sensors

Sony: The development the F65 CineAlta camera with its pioneering high-resolution imaging sensor, excellent dynamic range, and full 4K output

Panavision and Sony: developing the Genesis digital motion picture camera

Marcos Fajardo for creating the Arnold Renderer, and Chris Kulla, Alan King, Thiago Ize and Clifford Stein for their highly optimized geometry engine and ray-tracing algorithms which unify the rendering of curves, surfaces, volumetrics as developed at Sony Pictures Imageworks and Solid Angle SL

Vladimir Koylazov: creating the V-Ray from Chaos Group

Luca Fascione, J.P. Lewis and Iain Matthews: creating the FACETS facial performance capture and solving system at Weta Digital


Are you sure you want to delete this?