photo 2 options
  • Logo

    Photo Uploaded
  • Footer Logo

    Photo Uploaded
color 6 options


Your settings have been saved.

Celebrities / Movies / Television PopWrapped | Celebrities

Four Legends Set to Receive Honorary Academy Awards

Matthew Jenner | PopWrapped Author

Matthew Jenner

08/30/2014 3:17 pm
PopWrapped | Celebrities
Four Legends Set to Receive Honorary Academy Awards | Academy Awards
Media Courtesy of
Every year, the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences (AMPAS) presents a small group of individuals with Honorary Oscars in recognition of years of dedication and brilliance to the Industry. This year, three incredible individuals will be receiving the honor, while another legend will receive the Jean Hersholt Humanitarian Award. Hayao Miyazaki, the man who brought anime to a much wider audience, recently retired from filmmaking, but he will be receiving an Honorary Oscar in November for his incredible career. Miyazaki already won a competitive Academy Award over a decade ago for his iconic film Spirited Away. This is one of the few instances of a previous winner receiving an honorary award. Jean-Claude Carrière is one of the last remaining members of the French New Wave, a movement in the 1950s and 1960s that brought about some major upheaval in filmmaking. As a writer, he collaborated with several great filmmakers, but his most notable achievement was his friendship with Luis Buñuel, the highly influential surrealist director. As with Miyazaki, Carrière has won a competitive Oscar, this time in 1963 for Happy Anniversary. How fitting that over fifty years later, Carrière once again receives recognition for his highly influential work. Maureen O'Hara is one of the most iconic actresses in Hollywood's Golden Age. Most of her films have become historically significant, and O'Hara herself is a living icon of a era of filmmaking. At the age of 94, O'Hara is one of the oldest recipients of this award. Her selection comes a year after the equally icon, Angela Lansbury received the same award. Finally, the Jean Hersholt Humanitarian Award is given to a person in the entertainment industry who, while known for their talents in entertaining us, also has made a name for themselves in the realm of charity and human rights. This award is not given every year, so only the most deserving receive it. This year, acting legend Harry Belafonte will receive the award for his decades of great service to humanitarian causes. Belafonte will also be able to add another accolade to his impressive list of awards - with this award, he will technically have received the prestigious EGOT (Emmy, Grammy, Oscar and Tony), and while he is not in the ranks of the twelve people who have won these awards competitively, he will join Christopher Plummer, Liza Minnelli, Barbra Streisand, and James Earl Jones in the group that have all four awards, with one of them being an Honorary or special award. The awards will be handed out in November in an intimate, non-televised ceremony.

Keep Up With PopWrapped On The Web!

Twitter  SoundCloud Facebook Instagram Tumblr Pinterest YouTube


Are you sure you want to delete this?