Appearance
photo 2 options
  • Logo

    Uploading…
    Photo Uploaded
    Error!
  • Footer Logo

    Uploading…
    Photo Uploaded
    Error!
color 6 options

Success!

Your settings have been saved.

PopWrapped | Television

HBO Makes A Massive Mistake And Cancels "Looking"

Aedan Juvet | PopWrapped Author

Aedan Juvet

Updated 04/1/2015 6:07pm
HBO Makes A Massive Mistake And Cancels
Media Courtesy of HBO

It's not fun to be typing these words folks; Looking has been officially cancelled after two seasons on HBO. The series centered on Patrick, a video game developer in San Francisco and his group of friends, while exploring the intricacies of modern gay relationships.

Though there won't be a third season, it is assured that there will be some sort of a wrap up mini movie that will be used to close off lingering story lines (and there were plenty)!

A statement from HBO elaborates, "After two years of following Patrick (Groff) and his tight-knit group of friends as they explored San Francisco in search of love and lasting relationships, HBO will present the final chapter of their journey as a special. We look forward to sharing this adventure with the shows' loyal fans."

It's somewhat satisfying that there will be some sense of closure, but as one of my favorite programs, and the only current LGBT scripted series on television, its disheartening to know that the stories of this particular group of friends will be cut short. While Looking was never a technical ratings juggernaut, it attracted a committed fan following and increasingly positive critical attention for touching on several real life issues, with LGBT inclusive themes that aren't being portrayed on other current programs.

Despite my extremely resentful demeanor about its untimely cancellation, I'll definitely stick around for the wrap-up and hope that Patrick and Richie can have another shot at happiness...And I'm still holding out hope that HBO changes its mind soon in favor of a third season.

Keep Up With PopWrapped On The Web!

     

Share

Are you sure you want to delete this?

ConfirmCancel