photo 2 options
  • Logo

    Photo Uploaded
  • Footer Logo

    Photo Uploaded
color 6 options


Your settings have been saved.

Current Events / Politics PopWrapped | Current Events

India's Narendra Modi Not Named "Person Of The Year," Despite Winning Reader Poll

Rain Varela | PopWrapped Author

Rain Varela

Staff Writer
12/15/2016 6:04 am
PopWrapped | Current Events
India's Narendra Modi Not Named
Media Courtesy of

As you probably know, US President-elect Donald Trump has been named as TIME's Person of the Year. What you may not have known, was that Trump won the title in spite of India's Prime Minister, Narendra Modi, winning 18 percent of the vote (the most of any finalist) in the reader poll.

In fact, this is the second time Narendra Modi has won the popular vote but was not named Person of the Year. He previously topped the poll in 2014. Coincidentally, this is the second time Trump has won a title despite losing the popular vote...

Ultimately, it is the editors of the magazine who bestow the title.

Trump, together with US President Barack Obama and Wikileaks founder Julian Assange, were tied in second place, with each man winning only 7 percent of the vote.

The title has been bestowed by the magazine on a person, group, idea, and sometimes even an object that its editors believe "for better or for worse ... has done the most to influence the events of the year".

As an explanation for naming Trump, TIME's Nancy Gibbs wrote:

"For reminding America that demagoguery feeds on despair and that truth is only as powerful as the trust in those who speak it, for empowering a hidden electorate by mainstreaming its furies and live-streaming its fears, and for framing tomorrow’s political culture by demolishing yesterday’s, Donald Trump is TIME’s 2016 Person of the Year."

Originally called "Man of the Year," the cover was first run in 1929 and featured pilot Charles Lindbergh was was the first man to fly solo across the Atlantic.

Others who were named include the likes of German Chancellor Adolf Hitler in 1938; Soviet Dictator Joseph Stalin, who gained the title twice, first in 1939 and then in 1942; Iranian Supreme Leader Ayatollah Khomeini in 1979; and Russian President Vladimir Putin in 2007. So ... Trump is in very good company.

All US Presidents since Franklin Roosevelt have been named as "Man of the Year" or "Person of the Year," at one point or another during their term, to the point where it has almost become mandatory; Gerald Ford is the only notable exception.


Are you sure you want to delete this?