Appearance
photo 2 options
  • Logo

    Uploading…
    Photo Uploaded
    Error!
  • Footer Logo

    Uploading…
    Photo Uploaded
    Error!
color 6 options

Success!

Your settings have been saved.

Television PopWrapped | Television

NBC Set To Breathe Life Back Into Murder, She Wrote

PopWrapped | PopWrapped Author

PopWrapped

@PopWrapped
10/25/2013 12:07 pm
PopWrapped | Television
NBC Set To Breathe Life Back Into Murder, She Wrote
Media Courtesy of CBS

Sarah Goddard

Content Editor

NBC is at it again. And by ‘it’ I mean, taking a beloved TV series from our past and giving it a revamp. As we reported earlier in the month, they have developed a reboot for Remington Steele, turning it into a half hour comedy. And now Deadline have reported that they are giving the same treatment to Murder, She Wrote. The new series will be more of a “re-imagining” than a remake or retelling of the original, being described as “a light, contemporary procedural in the vein of Bones or Fargo.” Academy Award winning actress Octavia Spencer is set to star in the series that will follow “a hospital administrator and amateur sleuth who self-publishes her first mystery novel.” And is “[s]et in a day where sensational headlines inundate the news, this woman’s avid fascination with true crime leads her to become an active participant in the investigations.” In speaking with Deadline, Spencer said, “I’ve always considered myself an armchair detective and in a recent meeting with (NBC Entertainment Chairman) Bob Greenblatt, he asked me what type of character would be able to lure me to TV. Naturally, I said ”J.B. Fletcher meets Colombo”… And here we are,” Former Desperate Housewives executive producer Alexandra Cunningham has signed on to write the series and spoke of her passion for the new project. “Octavia and I are both huge true crime buffs, amateur criminologists, and fans of Angela Lansbury,” she said. “To get the chance to reimagine Murder, She Wrote for a dynamic and multi-faceted actress like Octavia is a thrill and a pleasure.” The original Murder, She Wrote series aired on CBS for 12 consecutive seasons from 1984 – 1996 and starred Angela Lansbury as Jessica (J.B.) Fletcher, a mystery writer and amateur detective, and is often considered one of the most successful television shows in history. http://www.Twitter.com/PopWrapped http://www.PopWrapped.Tumblr.com/ http://www.SoundCloud.com/PopWrapped http://www.Facebook.com/PopWrapped http://www.Instagram.com/PopWrapped http://www.Pinterest.com/PopWrapped http://www.YouTube.com/PopWrapped http://www.PopWrapped.wordpress.com/ http://www.PopWrapped.com

Share


Are you sure you want to delete this?

ConfirmCancel