photo 2 options
  • Logo

    Photo Uploaded
  • Footer Logo

    Photo Uploaded
color 6 options


Your settings have been saved.

Fandom / Television / Celebrities PopWrapped | Fandom

The Best Of British Television Honoured At The National Television Awards

PopWrapped | PopWrapped Author


01/22/2014 9:56 pm
PopWrapped | Fandom
The Best Of British Television Honoured At The National Television Awards
Media Courtesy of The National Television Awards

Zoë Ambrozewska Content Editor

London’s O2 Arena was lit up tonight (Wednesday 22nd January) by the 19th annual National Television Awards. Presented by Dermot O’Leary, the star-studded event was aired live on ITV, and saw some of the best of UK television honoured. Congratulations are most definitely in order for PopWrapped favourites Matt Smith and Doctor Who, who won for Drama Performance and Drama respectively, as well as Benedict Cumberbatch, who beat out fierce competition from the stars of Broadchurch, David Tennant and Olivia Coleman, and Idris Elba from Luther, to win the very first TV Detective Award for Sherlock. Notably, it proved to be a special night for Serial Drama Performance winner Julie Hesmondhalgh who bowed out of soap opera Coronation Street earlier this week as her cancer storyline came to its tragic finale. And last but most definitely not least, Ant and Dec proved they’ve still got it as they took home the Entertainment Presenter gong for the 13th year in a row, as well as the Landmark Award as they enter their 25th year in television. Performance on the night came from X Factor winner Sam Bailey, Michael Bolton, the Documentary Series winning children of Educating Yorkshire, Nigel Harman and the cast of I Can’t Sing, and Strictly Come Dancing 2013 winner Abbey Clancy alongside judges Bruno Tonioli and Craig Revel Horwood. You can check out a full list of nominees and winners, as well as a special message from Matt Smith below; congratulations to everyone from us here at PopWrapped! FACTUAL ENTERTAINMENT 'The Great British Bake Off' 'Paul O'Grady: For The Love of Dogs' - WINNER 'An Idiot Abroad' 'Top Gear' ENTERTAINMENT PROGRAMME 'I'm a Celebrity: Get Me Out Of Here' - WINNER 'Ant & Dec's Saturday Night Takeaway' 'Celebrity Juice' 'The Graham Norton Show' DRAMA PERFORMANCE Maggie Smith ('Downton Abbey') Matt Smith ('Doctor Who') - WINNER Martin Clunes ('Doc Martin') Miranda Hart ('Call The Midwife') DOCUMENTARY SERIES 'Educating Yorkshire' - WINNER 'Paul O'Grady's Working Britain' 'Penguins - Spy in the Huddle' 'Inside Death Row with Trevor McDonald' NEWCOMER Khali Best ('EastEnders') - WINNER Michelle Hardwick ('Emmerdale') Marc Baylis ('Coronation Street') Anna Passey ('Hollyoaks') DAYTIME 'Pointless' 'The Chase' 'This Morning' - WINNER 'The Jeremy Kyle Show' COMEDY 'Derek' 'Mrs Brown's Boys' - WINNER 'The Big Bang Theory' 'Miranda' SERIAL DRAMA PERFORMANCE David Neilson ('Coronation Street') Julie Hesmondhalgh ('Coronation Street') - WINNER Jessie Wallace ('EastEnders') Michelle Keegan ('Coronation Street') TV DETECTIVE David Tennant ('Broadchurch') Olivia Coleman ('Broadchurch') Idris Elba ('Luther') Bradley Walsh ('Law & Order UK') Suranne Jones ('Scott & Bailey') Benedict Cumberbatch ('Sherlock') – WINNER ENTERTAINMENT PRESENTER Dermot O'Leary Ant & Dec - WINNER Keith Lemon Alan Carr Graham Norton DRAMA 'Broadchurch' 'Call The Midwife' 'Downton Abbey' 'Doctor Who' – WINNER SERIAL DRAMA 'Coronation Street' - WINNER 'EastEnders' 'Emmerdale' 'Hollyoaks' TALENT SHOW 'The X Factor' 'Strictly Come Dancing' - WINNER 'Britain's Got Talent' 'Dancing on Ice' 'The Voice UK' LANDMARK AWARD Ant & Dec


Are you sure you want to delete this?