photo 2 options
  • Logo

    Photo Uploaded
  • Footer Logo

    Photo Uploaded
color 6 options


Your settings have been saved.

Woody Allen To Be Awarded the Prestigious Cecil B. DeMille Award

PopWrapped | PopWrapped Author


09/14/2013 4:11 am
Woody Allen To Be Awarded the Prestigious Cecil B. DeMille Award

Clare Sidoti
Managing Editor

The multi-award winning writer/director/actor Woody Allen is to be graced with another laurel… the 2014 Cecil B. DeMille Award.

Presented annually by the Hollywood Foreign Press Association (HFPA) at their January Golden Globe Awards ceremony, the Cecil B. DeMille Award is given to talented individuals in the industry who have made an “incredible impact on the world of entertainment.” Current president, Theo Kingma, announced today that Allen would be the recipient and that there would be a tribute paid to him during the 71st Annual Golden Globe Awards, according to Deadline.

Speaking of Allen, Kingma said, “There is no one more worthy of this award than Woody Allen. His contributions to filmmaking have been phenomenal and he truly is an international treasure.”

Allen has written and directed more than 45 films, including classics Annie Hall, Manhattan, Hannah and Her Sisters and more recently, Match Point, Vicky Cristina Barcelona and Midnight in Paris. His latest film, Blue Jasmine starring Cate Blanchett, is already receiving Oscar buzz and critical acclaim.

Allen has received recognition from the HFPA previously with wins for Best Screenplay (The Purple Rose of Cairo, 1986 and Midnight in Paris, 2011) and Best Motion Picture – Comedy or Musical for Vicky Cristina Barcelona. Allen has also been nominated 23 times and won four Academy Awards: three for Best Original Screenplay (Annie Hall, 1978, Hannah and Her Sisters, 1987 and Midnight in Paris, 2011) and one for Best Director (Annie Hall (1978)).

Allen will join a list of who’s who in Hollywood icons as past recipients of the Cecil B. DeMille Award include Jodie Foster (2013), Morgan Freeman (2012), Robert De Niro (2011), Martin Scorsese (2010) and Steven Spielberg (2009).

The 71st Annual Golden Globe Awards will take place on Sunday January 12, 2014 at the Beverly Hilton Hotel.


Are you sure you want to delete this?