photo 2 options
  • Logo

    Photo Uploaded
  • Footer Logo

    Photo Uploaded
color 6 options


Your settings have been saved.

Television PopWrapped | Television

Give It Up for the Writers! The Writers Guild Awards 2013 Winners!

PopWrapped | PopWrapped Author


02/21/2013 5:57 pm
PopWrapped | Television
Give It Up for the Writers! The Writers Guild Awards 2013 Winners!

Erika Rivera
Sraff Writer

Those behind the scenes of Television and Films were honored Sunday night at the 2013 Writes Guild Awards. In the film division, a little bit of everything was recognized. From History recreated by Lincoln, to current events touched on by Zero Dark Thirty¸ and even offbeat romances shown in Silver Linings Playbook and Moonrise Kingdom were bestowed with awards from the WGA.

Television honored their people as well with wins from Breaking Bad (in the drama categories) and Modern Family (in the comedy categories). Winners were honored by both the WGA West and East during simultaneous ceremonies in Los Angeles and New York, hosted by Castle’s Nathan Fillion.

See the full list of winners below!

For Film Categories:

Original Screenplay:

Zero Dark Thirty: Mark Boal, writer

Adapted Screenplay:

Argo: Chris Terrio, writer

Documentary Screenplay:

Searching for Sugar Man: Malik Bendejelloul, writer

For Television Categories:

Drama Series:

Breaking Bad, Written by Sam Catlin, Vince Gilligan, Peter Gould, Gennifer Hutchison, George Mastras, Thomas Schnauz, Moira Walley-Beckett; AMC

Comedy Series:

Louie, Written by Pamela Adlon, Vernon Chatman, Louis C.K.; FX

New Series:

Girls, Written by Judd Apatow, Lesley Arfin, Lena Dunham, Sarah Heyward, Bruce Eric Kaplan, Jenni Konner, Deborah Schoeneman, Dan Sterling; HBO

Episodic Drama:

“The Other Woman”(Mad Men), Written by Semi Chellas and Matthew Weiner; AMC

Episodic Comedy:

“Virgin Territory” (Modern Family), Written by Elaine Ko; ABC

Long Form-Original:

Hatfields and McCoys, Nights Two and Three, Teleplay by Ted Mann and Ronald Parker, Story by Bill Kerby and Ted Mann; History Channel

Long Form-Adapted:

Game Change,Written by Danny Strong, Based on the book by Mark Halperin and John Heilemann; HBO


“Ned and Edna’s Blend Agenda” (The Simpsons), Written by Jeff Westbrook; Fox

Comedy/Variety (Including Talk) –Series:

Portlandia, Writers: Fred R. Armisen, Carrie Brownstein, Karey Dornetto, Jonathan Krisel, Bill Oakley; IFC

Comedy/Variety-Music, Awards, Tributes-Specials:

66th Annual Tony Awards, Written by Dave Boone; Special Material by Paul Greenberg; Opening and Closing Songs by David Javerbaum, Adam Schlesinger; CBS

Daytime Drama:

“The Young & The Restless”, Written by Amanda Beall, Jeff Beldner, Brent Boyd, Susan Dansby, Janice Ferri Esser, Jay Gibson, Scott Hamner, Maria Kanelos, Natalie Minardi Slater, Beth Milstein, Michael Montgomery, Anne Schoettle, Linda Schreiber, Lisa Seidman, Sarah K. Smith, Christopher J. Whitesell, Teresa Zimmerman; CBS

Children’s-Episodic & Special:

“The Good Sport” (Sesame Street); Written by Christine Ferraro; PBS

Children’s-Long Form or Special: “

Girl vs. Monster,” Story by Annie De Young; Teleplay byAnnie De Young and Ron McGee; Disney Channel

Documentary-Current Events: “

Money, Power and Wall Street: Episode One” (Frontline), Written by Martin Smith and Marcela Gaviria; PBS

Documentary-Other Than Current Events:

“The Fabric of the Cosmos: The Illusion of Time” (Nova), Written by Randall MacLowry; PBS

News-Regularly Scheduled, Bulletin, or Breaking Report:

“Tragedy In Colorado: The Movie Theatre Massacre,” Written by Lisa Ferri, Joel Siegel; ABC News

New-Analysis, Feature, or Commentary:

“The Ghost of Joe McCarthy” (Moyers & Company), Written by Bill Moyers, Michael Winship; Thirteen/ WNET

For Radio Categories:

News-Regularly Scheduled or Breaking Report:

"World News This Year 2011,” Written by Darren Reynolds; ABC News Radio

News-Analysis, Feature or Commentary:

“Dishin Digital,” Written by Robert Hawley; WCBS-AM

For Promotional Writing and Graphic Animation Categ


On-Air Promotion (Radio or Television):

“Partners,” Written by Dan A. Greenberger; CBS

Television Graphic Animation:

“The Oscars” (Sunday Morning with Charles Osgood), Animation by Bob Pook; CBS

For New Media and Videogame Categories:

Outstanding Achievement in Writing Original New Media:

“The Compromises, Episode 1,” “The Pest, Episode 3,” The Snake, Episode 4,” “The Bonding, Episode 6,” “The Future, Episode 7/Series Finale” (Jack in a Box), Written by Michael Cyril Creighton;

Outstanding Achievement in Writing Derivative New Media

: “Hide And Seek,” “Keys to the Kingdom,” “The Chosen Ones,” “Parting Shots” (The Walking Dead: Cold Storage), Written by John Esposito;

Outstanding Achievement in Videogame Writing

: “Assassin’s Creed III: Liberation”, Scriptwriting by Richard Farrese, Jill Murray; Ubisoft

Congrats to all the winners! Did you see any surprises/shockers up there? Is Argo’s Best Picture Oscar pretty much in the bag this year? How are the Emmy hopefuls shaping up so far? Cannot wait to find out who will take home the Oscars when they air on February 24th and the Emmys later on this year in September! (COMING SOON!) (COMING SOON!)

Instagram: PopWrapped


Are you sure you want to delete this?