photo 2 options
  • Logo

    Photo Uploaded
  • Footer Logo

    Photo Uploaded
color 6 options


Your settings have been saved.

Fandom PopWrapped | Fandom

Teen Wolf, 5 Seconds Of Summer, And Shadowhunters Amongst Big Winners At MTV Fandom Awards 2016

Mike Nied | PopWrapped Author

Mike Nied

07/24/2016 11:54 am
PopWrapped | Fandom
Teen Wolf, 5 Seconds Of Summer, And Shadowhunters Amongst Big Winners At MTV Fandom Awards 2016 | Fandom Awards
Media Courtesy of

And that's a wrap on the 2016 MTV Fandom Awards! Check out a full list of winners and get a full recap of the awards show here...

Last night (July 21) MTV took over Petco Park in San Diego to host their annual Fandom Awards at San Diego Comic Con! The awards show is currently in it's third year of running and honors achievements in movies, TV, music, theater, and video games. With Teen Wolf star Tyler Posey accepting hosting duties, the show was all the more popular this year. In the days leading up to the event MTV tallied more than 21 million votes from fans across Facebook, Instagram, Snapchat, Tumblr, and Twitter, ensuring that the most beloved fandoms took home the awards.

Fandom Awards

This year MTV's Teen Wolf took home the much coveted Fandom of the Year award. Sponsored by Jolly Rancher Candy, Austin Butler of The Shannara Chronicles introduced the category and bestowed the award upon the cast. Tyler Posey, Holland Roden, Cody Christian, Dylan Sprayberry, Ian Bohen, JR Bourne, and Khylin Rhambo accepted the award from Butler. The award came mere hours after Teen Wolf unveiled the first trailer for the upcoming sixth and final season of the fan favorite series.


We have arrived! #mtvfandomawards #sdcc #pwsdcc

A photo posted by PopWrapped (@popwrapped) on

Other honorees to receive awards included the band 5 Seconds of Summer, who scooped up the Bandom of the Year award, and Freeform's Shadowhunters: The Mortal Instruments, who received the Best New Fandom award.


#Shadowhunters won Best New Fandom! #mtvfandomawards #sdcc2016 #pwsdcc

A photo posted by PopWrapped (@popwrapped) on

Emma Roberts, Dave Franco, the cast of iZombie, and the cast of the 2017 Power Rangers reboot were amongst the presenters for this year's Fandom Awards.The evening also featured performances from the likes of Kent Jones, Pierce the Veil, and Krewella.

Check out the full list of winners from the 2016 MTV Fandom Awards below!

Fandom of the Year: Teen Wolf Ship of the Year: "Olicity" from Arrow

Best New Fandom: Shadowhunters: The Mortal Instruments

Fan Freakout of the Year: The 100 RIP Clexa

Bandom of the Year: 5 Seconds of Summer

Animation Fandom of the Year: Steven Universe

Best Revival: Harry Potter and the Cursed Child

Huge congrats to everyone that took home an award! Fans can watch the awards show this Sunday, as it will be aired in full on MTV on July 24 at 8:00 pm EST.

Check out more photos from the event on PopWrapped's Instagram account!

What are your thoughts on the winners of the 2016 MTV Fandom Awards? Let us know if your favs took home an award in the comments below!


Are you sure you want to delete this?