photo 2 options
  • Logo

    Photo Uploaded
  • Footer Logo

    Photo Uploaded
color 6 options


Your settings have been saved.

"The Purge" Soundtrack Gets Release Date

PopWrapped | PopWrapped Author


05/22/2013 5:29 am

Sarah Goddard

Staff Writer

Universal Studio’s in house record label, Back Lot Music, have announced that the Original Motion Picture Soundtrack for the upcoming film The Purge, will be released on June 4. Three days before the film opens across the country on June 7. The soundtrack will feature new music by Nathan Whitehead, who has previously contributed music to and arrangements for Transformers: Dark Side of the Moon, TV’s Desperate Housewives and the Xbox 360 game, Gears of War: Judgement.

“Scoring The Purge was a fascinating and haunting exploration into what we value as a society and how far will we go in the name of greater social good,” Whitehead says. “Sonically, this was such a fun world to develop as I got to record and process a lot of strange sounds to create our own vocabulary for the score — everything from spring rattles and noisy toys to whooshing traffic and subway tunnels.”

The Purge, directed by James DeMonaco (writer for The Negotiator and Assault on Precinct 13) and produced by Jason Blum (Paranormal Activity, Insidious) is set in the year 2022, where unemployment stands at 1% and crime is at an all time low. In order to maintain these figures, the government grants an annual twelve hour period, in which all criminal activity, including murder, is legal, and all emergency services are ceased, a twelve hour window known as, The Purge.

During the course of the night, a stranger screaming for help, is let into James Sandin’s (Ethan HawkeReality Bites, Training Day) house. This forces him and his family to make a choice in their beliefs of what is right and what is wrong. This leads to a sequence of events involving those pursuing the stranger, that will put the family’s chance of surviving the night, in danger.

Here is the albums track listing:

  1. You’re Number One 
    2. Let’s Growl 
    3. Timmy 
    4. Charlie’s Secret Room 
    5. Lockdown 
    6. Family 
    7. I Came To See Your Father 
    8. Emergency Services Will Be Suspended 
    9. This Night Saved Our Country 
    10. The Purge Is Working 
    11. Who Needs A Car On A Boat? 
    12. Zoey’s Gone 
    13. Be Careful, OK? 
    14. You Need to See This 
    15. Toodaloo, Sandins 
    16. Charlie Watches 
    17. James And The Stranger 
    18. That Will Be Thee 
    19. There Are People Outside 
    20. I Am Not Dying Tonight 
    21. Nothing Is Ever Going To Be OK Again 
    22. I Bid Thee Farewell 
    23. Are You Hurt? 
    24. Release The Beast 
    25. Your Soul Has Been Cleansed 
    26. Neighbors 
    27. Thank You 
    28. Ours, Not Theirs 
    29. Blessed Be The New Founding Fathers 
    30. No More Killing Tonight


Are you sure you want to delete this?