photo 2 options
  • Logo

    Photo Uploaded
  • Footer Logo

    Photo Uploaded
color 6 options


Your settings have been saved.

The Webby Awards Are Announced: Who Was Best in the Web in 2013?

PopWrapped | PopWrapped Author


05/01/2013 4:11 pm
The Webby Awards Are Announced: Who Was Best in the Web in 2013?


Jennifer Stasak

Staff Writer

The Webby Awards are here again, celebrating the best of the Internet for 2013. Announced among the recepients are Frank Ocean, the web series Burning Love, and House of Cards. This year’s judging panel, which selected the winners, included Twitter Co-Founder Biz Stone, Arianna Huffington and Instagram creator Kevin Systrom. In addition, a press release for The Webby Awards announced that “with votes from over 200 countries and territories,” a new record was set by Internet users this year as they cast their votes in various categories for The Webby People’s Voice Awards.

Frank Ocean will be receiving an award for Webby Person of the Year for his coming out letter to his fans via Tumblr and for “proving the power of the Web as a medium for cultural change,” the press release states. Burning Love will receive a Webby Special Achievement Award for “successfully challenging the standards of network television with regard to both production quality and distribution.” Ben Stiller, Ken Marino, and Erica Oyama will also share in this award.

The Webby Lifetime Achievement Award will be presented to Steve Wilhite, creator of the GIF file format, which has become a “staple among image formats used to spread news and information,” as well as an integral part of pop culture.

The 2013 Webby Awards ceremony will be held on May 22nd and will be hosted by comedian and actor Patton Oswalt. The awards will be available to view in HD at and will begin at 9 AM EST.


Are you sure you want to delete this?